1

12.13 Conflict of Interest Committee

12.13.1 Function

The purposes of the Conflict of Interest Committee are to help facilitate the implementation of the university's conflict of interest policies as defined in Faculty Handbook Section 6 and the Conflict of Interest Policy, clarify faculty obligations to disclose and avoid conflicts, provide guidance both with respect to interpreting the university's conflict of interest and conflict of commitment polices and development of conflict management plans, annually review conflict of interest and conflict of commitment management plans, and address disputes. In fulfilling its role, the Committee makes recommendations to the President, Provost, the Deans, other Vice Presidents, the Faculty Senate, and/or the Director of Compliance, as is appropriate.

12.13.2 Membership

The appointed voting members shall consist of three full-time, tenured faculty members, one teaching faculty member, and one administrative faculty member. The voting members who will serve in an *ex officio* capacity are: the Associate Provost for Operations; Director of Office of Research Administration; Director of Procurement; the administrator responsible for oversight of human subjects research; and the Director of Compliance and Policy. The non-voting members who will serve in an *ex officio* capacity are: the Director of Technology Transfer and the university's legal counsel.

12.13.3 Method of Operation

The Director of Compliance and Policy shall act as Chair of the Committee. The Committee shall meet at least once per academic semester. Six of the voting members shall constitute a quorum. A majority vote of the quorum shall be required for any official action of the committee. Subject to the above, the meetings shall be conducted according to the latest edition of *Robert's Rules of Order*.

12.13.4 Method of Appointment

The academic faculty members shall be nominated by the Faculty Senate and appointed by the President. The administrative faculty member shall be nominated by the Administrative Faculty Council and appointed by the President.

12.13.5 Terms of Appointment

All appointed committee members shall serve staggered two-year terms.