12.3 Budget Committee

12.3.1 Function

The Budget Committee shall be responsible for gathering and analyzing appropriate data regarding the budgetary requirements of Mines, preparing proposed annual budgets for Mines, preparing proposed budgetary revisions from time to time, and advising the President and the Mines administration on budgetary matters and long-range fiscal planning.

12.3.2 Membership

The appointed membership of the Budget Committee shall consist of two academic department heads, three full-time academic faculty members, one academic dean, and one full-time administrative faculty member. One of the academic faculty members must be a Faculty Senator and shall serve as a representative of the Faculty Senate. Additionally, the Provost, Vice Provost, the Executive Vice President for Finance, Administration and Operations, the Vice President for Student Life, the Vice President for Research and Technology Transfer, and the Vice President for Global Initiatives shall serve as voting, *ex officio* committee members.

12.3.3 Method of Operation

The chairperson of the Budget Committee shall be the Executive Vice President for Finance, Administration and Operations. The committee shall meet at least once per month during the fall and spring semesters and as necessary during the summer. Upon the provision of appropriate notice to the membership, special meetings may be called at any time by the chairperson. At least seven voting members must be present at a meeting to constitute a quorum sufficient to permit the committee to conduct its business. A majority vote of members present at a meeting shall be required for any action taken at the meeting to constitute an official act of the committee. All disputed procedural issues that arise regarding the conduct of the meetings of the committee shall be resolved according to the most recent edition of *Robert's Rules of Order*.

12.3.4 Method of Appointment

The academic department head committee members shall be nominated by the deans and appointed by the President. The academic faculty committee members shall be nominated by the Faculty Senate and appointed by the President. The dean shall be nominated by the Provost and appointed by the President. The administrative faculty committee member shall be nominated by the Administrative Faculty Council and appointed by the President.

12.3.5 Terms of Appointment

The academic department head committee members shall serve for staggered two-year terms. The academic faculty committee members who do not represent the Faculty Senate shall serve for staggered three-year terms. The academic faculty committee member who represents the Faculty Senate shall serve for a renewable, one-year term. The administrative faculty committee member shall serve for a three-year term. All terms of appointment to this committee shall be calculated on an academic year basis, rather than on a calendar year basis.