8.1 Faculty Awards

Each Fall, the Office of Academic Affairs will solicit nominations for the following faculty awards:

- Mines Teaching Award (Teaching Faculty)
- Mines Teaching Award (Tenured or Tenured Track Faculty)
- Board of Trustees' Outstanding Faculty Award
- Alfred E. Jenni Faculty Fellowship
- Faculty Excellence Award
- W.M Keck Mentorship Awards
- Excellence in Research Awards (Junior and Senior Faculty)
- DEIA at Mines Awards

Details of the requirements for nominations are provided in the following sections for each specific award.

Nominations are sent directly to Academic Affairs. Only faculty who have had satisfactory annual evaluations and are not the subject of any grievance over the last three years are eligible for an award, and all nomination packages must include a memo from the Department Head certifying that they are eligible. This memo will not count towards the total number of pages in the actual nomination. Academic Affairs then distributes complete and eligible nomination packages to the Faculty Awards Committee except the Excellence in Research Awards, which are sent to Research Council and the Faculty Senate, the W.M. Keck Mentorship Awards which are sent to the W.M. Keck Chair for Professional Development, and the DEIA Awards which uses a direct link to the DEIA selection committee. For all awards the relevant Awards Committee shall review the nominations and make a decision. The final list of awards winners is sent to the Provost for approval and all decisions are kept confidential until officially announced. With the exception of the Board of Trustees' Outstanding Faculty Award, all recipients of the awards listed here are announced at the April Awards Celebration. For the Board of Trustees' Outstanding Faculty Award, the Committee recommends a prioritized slate of recipients to the Board of Trustees, and the recipient is announced at the December Commencement ceremony.

The Faculty Awards Committee shall consist of the Vice Provost (Chair – *ex officio* non-voting), the Director for the Trefny Innovative Instruction Center (ex officio voting), the past recipients of faculty awards, an undergraduate student representative, and a graduate student representative.

Details on formatting and package requirements are provided under each award section to follow in Faculty Awards sections of the Procedures Manual.

Last Revision:

October 10, 2024